The End and the Beginning

I’ve not been writing much of late.

This is not because I don’t want to write; I do, very much.  It’s not because I don’t like the topics I’ve been choosing; I’ve been having a grand time with my pop culture paganism series, even if no one really reads it.  And it’s not because this blog doesn’t fit me anymore; now, more than ever, I find myself bumping into things along my religious path that I want to pick apart and examine here.

The actual reason behind my lack of posting here is complicated, but there is a teal deer version: I stopped posting for The Cauldron Blog Project while trying to sort out whether The Cauldron was still right for me, and after a few weeks and months of both introspection and conversation with some of the members of my religious community (and friends), I decided that it was no longer a good fit.  And so, I’ve resigned as part of the Staff at TC, and I have also left as a member.

The Cauldron has been a huge part of my religious life since early 2010: it was there that I feel I really came into my own as a Kemetic; it was there that I discovered and embraced FlameKeeping; it was there, among the other members, that I refined my own personal practice into something that nurtures and fulfills me.  For those things, not to mention the number of friends I made, I will always be grateful.  But, as people change and grow, their needs changes and mine no longer align with what The Cauldron can provide.

So, this is the end of the TC chapter of my life, but it is also a beginning.  It’s the beginning of a new re-examination period for me, looking at who I am and who I want to be.  It’s the beginning of a new section of road on my religious path.  It’s a chance to start anew and figure out new ways to put together all the bits and pieces, and new ways to poke at them, because the life un-examined is a stagnant life…and you all know how I feel about stagnation.

To those I met on TC, you are a part of who I am, and I will never forget you.  To those joining me with Beginnings of their own, I can’t think of any friends or companions I’d rather have.

Thank you, for everything.

5 responses to “The End and the Beginning

  1. I’m sad to hear that you’re leaving TC. You’re one of the people there who make me want to read a thread just because you posted in it. Over the years you’ve inspired me to both thought and action and I’m grateful for that.

    I wish you the very best on the next step of your journey and I’ll be following along here with interest.

  2. I have been contemplating a similar move myself, so I applaud your courage in stepping away from a place that is no longer a good fit. Looking forward to hearing about your path as it grows and changes.

  3. Sometimes you need to do what is best for you. I have fond memories of TC, but moving on was the right choice for me. I hope your path takes you where you need to go.

  4. Moving on has been a good choice for me, as well. The thing about religious communities in a modern world is that we can move on when they no longer fit what we need, and with TC being an interfaith community, the friendships made there don’t necessarily have to be cut off (unless you choose to move on from them) just because the community as a whole is no longer a fit.

Leave a Reply

