The Elder Scrolls – Leki

It’s amazing how little information is available in writing about the Yokudan pantheon.  I can only suspect that the Redguards pass most of it along amongst themselves, and as I’ve not been to Hammerfell I suppose it makes sense that I wouldn’t find it easy to gather the information I usually do for these posts.

What I was able to gather about Leki, who is apparently one of the most popular gods in Hammerfell, is this: she is the daughter of Tall Papa (Ruptga), who is the chief deity of the Yokudan pantheon.  Her bailiwick is aberrant swordsmanship which, on its face, seems to mean swordsmanship that diverges from the standard…and that strikes me as interesting because the Redguards are martial by culture and are schooled in the arts of war at a young age, and so I wonder what sort of technique they consider to be aberrant.

It is said that, during the Mythic Era, Leki introduced the Ephemeral Feint which stopped the Na-Totambu (Yokudan royalty) from fighting among themselves so that war with the Aldmer could begin.

There do not seem to be worshipers of Leki outside of Redguard culture (that I can find record of, anyway), and while I don’t understand the ins and outs of the Yokudan pantheon or, really, the roles and spheres of each deity within in, and I don’t advocate cultural appropriation, I think there’s something for non-Redguards to learn from Leki even with the little we know of her.

Let’s look at aberrance for a moment – deviating from what is considered proper or normal.  I write about this thing a lot on both my blogs because so much of what I do and how I live is considered to be aberrant.  I’m an adherent of a non-Abrahamic religion, I’m pansexual, monoromantic, and polyamorous, and I’m a practitioner of situational ethics.  Although I pass as a poster child for societal norms (WASP background, middle class, married female with child and corporate job) and have the privilege that goes with it, I am aberrant.

What’s more, I am aberrant even in groups of other aberrant people.  At Paganicon, for example, I stand out in my jeans and t-shirt while others get their pagan velvet sequin flowered fringe on.  In polyamorous circles, I stand out in my search for friends-with-benefits rather than romantic relationships, and in my need for sex rather than love while not wanting a series of one-night-stands.  As an ethical slut, I am having less sex than the label implies.

I am deviant.  I am (to use an overhyped word) divergent.  I am aberrant, and comfortable with being aberrant even if it is sometimes a huge pain in the ass to walk around with the equivalent of a neon sign on my forehead.  I can’t imagine being anyone but who I am…and that brings me back to Leki.  Leki teaches us to embrace our aberrance – to take it, accept it for what it is, and use it to improve ourselves and our communities.

Embrace what makes you you.  Embrace your aberrance, and spread it across the Universe.

One response to “The Elder Scrolls – Leki

  1. I think that there is both power and growth in being outside the box. I find my own way by looking at what has been done as well as trying what hasn’t been done (or at least what I haven’t heard about being done).

Leave a Reply

