Forgotten Gods

I wrote, some time ago, a post about Taweret that apparently got people thinking because ever since I’ve had random people ask me if I am going to write more posts about specific netjeru.

Now, I am not a scholar by any stretch of the imagination.  I became fascinated with Ancient Egypt when I was a child, and learned a myriad of wonderful and conflicting myths from my father and our many trips to the Penn Museum, but in the grand scheme of things I’ve only come to Kemetic practice recently and I have no degree or certification or time spent in Egypt itself to back it up.  I am, however, fascinated with the Names (Kemetic gods/netjeru) that aren’t discussed, despite my worship of some of the most known – Sekhmet, and Set, and Ma’at, and Nut, and a couple from other pantheons that have taken residence in my head.  At Paganicon this year, I found myself repeatedly drawn to a figure of Khepri, the dawn form of the sun god shown (usually) as a scarab beetle or a beetle-headed man, despite having no direct connection with him.  Khepri is important to the pantheon and his role is key to how the universe works and to the upholding of ma’at, and yet I don’t know anyone personally who works with him, or worships him.

(If you are such a person, please, speak up!)

The more I look into the topic, the more Names I find that appear to be left out or forgotten: I know one person who worships Khonsu, the Traveler, for example, but no others.  Mehet-Weret, the primeval cow goddess, is often ignored.  Heqet and the Two Ladies (Nekhbet and Wadjet); Sokar and Sopdu; even Bes and Sobek aren’t mentioned as often as I believe they should be (although, again, I do know one or two people who worship Sobek and multiple people who hang images of Bes in their homes).

So, this year, I’d like to write a series of posts about these “forgotten” Names in the hopes that we can come to know them better and give honor where and when it is due, but I cannot do this without the help of you, my readers.  So, if there’s a Name you’d like to see covered, please speak up!  Let your voice be heard, and may we come to learn more about the netjeru you choose.

12 responses to “Forgotten Gods

  1. I’d absolutely adore you even more if you wrote about Geb. He is a common figure in myth, but he isn’t worked with by many people. (As far as I have seen). I’d also love to see a post about Renenutet, and Khnum. If you’d be so kind.

  2. I have a list for you (some of the names may be different than sources, because translation):

    Meskhenet
    Renenutet
    Shai
    Satet
    Anuket
    Heh
    Seshet
    Aker
    Meretseger
    Maahes
    Nefertmu
    Tefnut (she is incredibly overshadowed as far as lioness Netjers goes)
    Kek
    Kauket

    …..if I come up with any more, I will let you know. 🙂

  3. Anupet is a goddess I work with, but other than her page on Per-Sabu, there’s next to nothing about her online. I know only one other person that worships her.

  4. I’m always up for other perspectives on Sobek, if it helps. I feel like there ought to be more of us than there are. I’ve known several in my time, but we always tend to drift apart in the end. It’s really weird.

  5. I know there are a few HoN members who have been divined for some of the lesser-known names; there’s one child of Bes, at least one of Heqat, a few beloveds or children of Khonsu and Taweret iirc. It’s interesting to see the distribution of gods across communities (both inside and outside the House).

    I’ve always been interested in gods who, for whatever reason, are less popular or almost hidden. It’s strange because so many of these deities were incredibly popular and almost necessary in ancient religious life. Bes and Taweret, I know, would probably have been called on far more often by Joe Hotep than, say, Aset. The same goes for other pantheons in my experience. The gods of the hearth and home, of protection and children and other important family things that just about every had to deal with Back In The Day, are sometimes glossed over by modern Pagans or polytheists. Which, while understandable for multiple reasons, is also a bit sad.

    • I kind of wonder if it’s related to the fact that we knew far more about royal and noble worshipping practices (which reasonably would involve gods of the throne, stateship, war, etc) due to the bias of their lives being “more interesting” than worship and practices of the common folk of ancient Egypt.

  6. Pingback: Favorite “F” PBP Posts | The Lefthander's Path

Leave a Reply

