Baby Steps – Paganicon 2014

I mentioned, in an earlier, post, that I would try and do a recap of the talk I gave at Paganicon 2014…and I’m going to try to convey what we discussed and how it went.  Before I do so, though, I do want to thank everyone who attended despite it being at 11:00 AM on a Sunday morning after much drunken hedonism the night before.  Would that I’d participated!

(Not really – I seriously needed not to have a hangover.)

The topic of the talk was, of course, Baby Steps.  To be more specific, I presented on bringing religion into everyday life and actions rather than separating the two things.  So many of us do this – we have LIFE, and then we have RELIGION, and we keep them as separate as possible.  In order to be true to our spiritual selves, however, I believe we need to be able to integrate the two…and this is what I presented.

I, personally, divide my LIFE into four parts  – job/school; family; personal time; community – and I drew a square made up of four puzzle pieces labeled with these things.  I then put a circle around it with an R (for religion) on the outside to mark the separation.  Upon suggestion from the participants, I added a circle in the center of the puzzle that touched all of the pieces (like a Venn diagram) labeled “Health”.  And then, in the name of examining how we could bring religion inside the circle and incorporate it into each of the pieces, I told this story:

Once upon a time, I made a promise to the goddess Nut that I would work through Her cycle over the course of one year, meditating on a different one of her gates, in sequence, on each Jubilee of Nut that occurred after Wep Ronpet in 2013.  On the first Jubilee after Wep Ronpet, I had the house to myself and was able, through dancing and consumption of an entheogen (absinthe in particular) to enter an altered state and meditate upon the First Hour of the Nut Cycle.  It went well.

On the second Jubilee after Wep Ronpet, my husband was at home, so I took my dancing and absinthe upstairs to our bedroom.  Again, things went as planned, I was able to enter an altered state and meditate upon the Second Hour.  I was in great spirits.  On the third Jubilee, however, things went awry.  There were enough people in the house to make doing the entire ritual impossible, and so I excused myself briefly to go upstairs.  Once there, I cried out to Nut that I couldn’t do the work I promised, and that I had failed her.  I then got a response back, “Remember Me.  That is all I ask.”

I realized at that point that while I’d needed the kick of formal practice to begin work with Nut, I didn’t need to continue the grand gestures in order to honor Her, and that honor and remembrance is what She wanted.  This is not to say that I do not need to work through the Nut Cycle – I do, and will.  However, Nut knows that I am imperfect and is not offended by this.  So now, on every Jubilee, I take ten minutes or so to honor Her – I pray, and sing hymns to her and, if it is on a work day, I use my 40 minute one-way commute as Her time.

After telling the story, I moved into incorporating religion into sections of LIFE, starting with Personal Time.  I spoke of my commute to and from my current job (26 miles one way = 40 minutes without traffic) and how I can use that time to pray, or rejoice, or reflect.  I then moved on to Community, and spoke about Shopping Cart Theology and how I modify it when I need to due to health reasons.  And then, I asked the participants to talk about ways in which to incorporate religion into the other two categories: Job/School, and Family.

Here is the list they came up with for Job/School:

  • Use passwords for systems that have religious meaning (I call this “password with intent”)
  • Use wallpaper or screen savers for your computer that have religious significance (doesn’t have to be overt – nature images are often used, or words with meaning.  Example – I’ve a friend who has Dune’s Litany Against Fear as a scrolling screen saver.)
  • Breathe and/or center between interactions with people
  • Bless or ward your personal space
  • Dedicate the work you to do a specific deity, if you work with deities (Example: my work in pharmaceuticals is dedicated to Sekhmet as patron of physicians and healer)
  • Choose your clothing to have significance – color choices, accessories, and the location of jewelry can all play a part

Then, we moved on to Family.  This one is tough, I admit, especially if you are like me and not out about your religion to your entire family.  I gave the following example: my mother and father are Christian, and my mother evangelical leaning enough (although she’s Episcopalian) that finding out I wasn’t Christian would hurt her heart.  However, I’m able to incorporate my religious beliefs into my interactions with them by going above and beyond what is expected.  When they went away recently, they needed someone to feed their cats.  My youngest brother lives 10 minutes from my parents, while I live 26 miles away.  However, three of their four cats are only comfortable with my parents and with me, and my mother worried they wouldn’t eat.  So, I stayed at their house while they were gone.  In addition, my current job is in their business and, as such, I will sometimes bring work home to do it if there is a deadline rather than waiting until a scheduled work day.  I arrange my hours to accommodate this type of thing,

Some of the things the audience came up with were:

  • Studying family culture and history as a devotional act
  • Looking into geneology
  • Cooking for family
  • Parenting either children or, in some cases, other family members
  • Devoting shared interests to deity (My father is a frustrated archaeologist who is the one who introduced me to Ancient Egypt.  I can geek out with him about various things without the religious connection being overt.)

When this part of the talk was complete, I then erased the circle I’d drawn around LIFE and drew arrows from the R into each puzzle piece.

From the response I received when I was finished, I know I gave some people food for thought.  I hope, that by sharing this here, that I’ve done the same for you, and I’d love to hear from you if you either attended the live talk, or read the recap here, and have thinky thoughts.

Thanks!

3 responses to “Baby Steps – Paganicon 2014

  1. Pingback: Paganicon 2014 | ON THE RIVERS

  2. Pingback: Baby Steps – Paganicon 2014 | TC Test Site

  3. Pingback: The Path onto the New Decade | Within the Watery Heavens

Leave a Reply

