Words will never hurt me – I have a Xylocarp

It doesn’t matter what you call me; I’m going to keep speaking (and writing) my mind.

As a pagan with opinions and space to write those opinions, I sometimes clash with the opinions of other people.   That’s all well and good to me – after all, I am a firm believer that differing beliefs and opinions are what make the world an interesting place.  Every time I come across an opinion that clashes with mine, whether it be online or in meat-space, I try and apply words mean things to it.  In other words, I look at it from the perspective of “Is this person saying what they mean and using words correctly to back it up?”  If the answer is Yes, I go on about my business.  If the answer is No, I step in and say something.  I’ll make a comment to a blog post, or reply to a forum post, or insert myself into a conversation, and I do this because I can’t not do it.

I can’t sit by when someone is trying to say one thing but ends up saying another thing.  It doesn’t matter who the person is – a colleague, a friend, a family member, or a Big Name Pagan (BNP).  And the latter has gotten me into what some might call trouble – I’ve been “called out” and vilified and told that I have no clue what I’m talking about.  I’ve been called sensitive (as in “sensitive reader is sensitive”), and ignorant, and mundane, and stubborn, and naive, and stupid, and wrong.

And, you know what?  I’m okay with it.  I’m okay, because adjectives are just that and no matter how many people disagree with me, they’re not hurting me.  I may end up frustrated and angry with the discourse, or annoyed, but not hurt.  I’ve a xylocarp, you see, and it enables me to continue to share information and opinions and comment where I am pointed to comment without worrying about what will be said to me in return.  There’s a need for discourse, a need for discussion, a need for dissenting viewpoints lest someone be put upon a pedestal as arbiter of the one true way.

I’ve a xylocarp, and it enables me to interact in the pagan community without fear and to call things as I see them.  This, in my opinion, can only be a good thing.

Feel free to dissent, if you’re called to do so.  *wink*

Leave a Reply

