Much Ado about Nothing – a piety rant

Until this point, I’ve been actively trying to stay away from the internet-wide piety debate.  Well, that is, other than encouraging others to write about it because I figure that they can say things in a much more clear fashion than I.  Also, I’ve become quite sick of this topic, because what it seems to boil down to is some sort of random muckety-mucks telling everyone that they aren’t pious enough because they don’t do X, Y, or Z.

Everyone is, of course, entitled to hold their own opinions about things, including how their religion is practiced, and I’ll never say otherwise.  I believe in the right of people to think for themselves and to state what they think…which is what makes writing about this so damned difficult for me.  Despite what I try to do to keep it objective, I’m sure someone out there will think I’m telling other people what they should and shouldn’t do, or say, and judging them for doing or saying it.  And that loops back into the idea that judgment isn’t helpful, and that it equals oppression and rabblerabblerabble.

I’m going to throw one of my own beliefs out here for objective consideration because I think it ties into the subject nicely: your right to say what you want does not erase my right to say what I want about what you said.  Likewise, my right to say what I want does not erase your right to say what you want about what I said…transitive properties being what they are and all that.

Take this idea for a moment, and roll it around, like sucking on a Lego.  Feel the ridges with your tongue; run the sharp edges along your gums.  Hear the clicking sound against your teeth.  See where it applies to you, and your interactions with others…unless I’m the only one who ever put a Lego in her mouth.  If that’s the case, choose another image that works for you so can examine the concept.  Now, apply it to something someone said that pissed you off.  Are you able to be pissed off without denying that they had the right to say it?  If so, take another look at this whole piety nonsense from that point of view.

Unless the person saying you’re impious is your religious leader and you’ve taken some sort of oath to follow what they say, look at what they say as simply much ado about nothing.  All the published authors and great high pagan popes can shout all they want…but my gods determine if I am pious enough, and I’m more than happy for people to go straight to the source and see what they have to say about it.

In the meantime, I’ll keep doing what I do…and being pious.

Leave a Reply

