Mayday! Mayday!

Many of us soldier on, taking on more and more religious and spiritual burdens until it feels like our shoulders will break from the weight of the yoke.

We do this because our religious lives are important to us. We take on as much as we possibly can, and then a little more beyond that, in the hopes of being what we want to be spiritually. We want to be pious. We want to show our gods, if we worship them, how worthy we are. We want to be able to stand up, hold our heads up high, and say, “I am doing all I need to do and my religious life is complete. I am making a contribution.”

The problem with this, and it’s one that I’ve run into myself quite often, is that we’re human. We have limits, and pushing too far beyond those limits in the name of piety is to ensure that we break. And what good is a broken tool except as an object lesson?

Among those in my religious community, there are people who worship gods and people who do not. There are people who do daily ritual, and people who do no ritual at all. There are people who show their devotion through prayer, or craft, or action within their communities. There are some who do magic, and others who don’t. It’s an eclectic community of sorts, but we have common ground in that we all take on the burdens necessary to move forward, sometimes to the point of overload. And while we’re happy to ask for help with our work, we’re not so eager to ask for help for ourselves.

When I look at the occasions that I need help, I’m struck by a couple of things. First, I’m happy to ask for help from my community to work out a specific problem. I’m also happy to call upon my gods for help with a task. But today, I realized that I rarely talk about the fact that I ask my gods for help for myself.

I don’t know if its the fact that I think it’s week to ask for help for myself, or that I’m afraid that others will think it is weak. I just know that today I was finally able to tell someone that there are times where I fall down and cry out, “My Lord, please help me! I cannot handle this right now. I will break!”  And, when I do this, He helps me.  I don’t get a get-out-of-jail-free card, or anything, but He helps me take a break so I can recuperate and be His hands-and-eyes in the world.

The word ‘mayday’, which people use to indicate that help is needed, comes from a French contraction of ‘moi’ and ‘aider’ – m’aidez.  In other words, help me, once again proving that words mean things.

Now, if we could only use them.

One response to “Mayday! Mayday!

  1. THIS all of THIS!

    I used to be totally against conversing much less asking for assistence from the Netjeru on my whinging and gripes about “the mundane”. I never felt They were willing to take the time on me. I’m still trying to pinpoint where that came from, because my whole experience started because they helped me with “the mundane” (it’s a long confusing list). Now as I have seen there are no lines between “divine” and “mundane”, there has been a switch in me and how I perceive Them and Their roles. We’re their eyes, ears, hands etc in this world, but they also double as our eyes, ears, hands, etc for what we may not catch as we walk through this part of life.

    I’ve had an interesting experience with what you have written about here. Recently, I decided to reach out to Them to help deal with crap. It resulted in a greater understanding of the less known members of my inner circle, and more for me to do. Like you said, it wasn’t the get-out-of-jail-free card. The experience was more like: we’re helping you out of this funk on the accord you won’t wait this long the next time and here’s more thinky-thoughts and assignments, have at it.

    It’s not to the point of where I’m going to ask for everything when it seems like a tiny bit of inconvenience, but it does help to know They do actually care enough to take some time to ease a little bit. To some of Them, it could be taken as insulting that we would decide for Them, rather than asking them (recent lectures on this right here). What good is a relationship with another individual, whether they are physical or non-physical in their appearance if we are only giving and not asking for anything from them? If we’re not good enough to have Their attention, why would they come to us in the first place if we weren’t worth some of Their effort?

Leave a Reply

