Practical things always win.

Peaceful Awakenings: Reflections of Egypt

I am currently in a point of my life at which I am half sick of theory. So I’m writing a nice post about something practical that can be done. Specifically, the basic practice of establishing an ancestor shrine.

I do a lot of things that are rooted in historical practice, and a lot of things that are simply and straightforwardly personal. I also have a lot of ideas that I have not yet successfully implemented, or ideas that I will never implement but am willing to suggest to others in case they find them useful.

First of all, and right up front: I do not only honor bloodkin on my ancestor shrine. My community is larger than that. I do honor not only to the elderly neighbors who adopted me as a bonus grandchild, but to important thinkers and friends – and people who were important to my…

View original post 812 more words

Leave a Reply

