All Xed out with No Place to Go

The time between American Thanksgiving and the end of the calendar year is filled with religious holidays that aren’t mine…and it makes me feel like a non-person.

Let me clarify a bit.

The festival calendar I follow is Kemetic and while there are religious holidays for me to celebrate during this time of year it is doubtful that the people around me are going to ask how my celebrations of the Mysteries of Wesir are going, or what to bring over to celebrate the Coronation of Heru.  Hell, most of them don’t even realize that there are people who still worship the gods of Ancient Egypt and try to celebrate their festivals.

(If you think I’m having a bit of a pity party….well, you’re right.)

It’s a weird time of year for me, honestly.  I spend Christmas with my family, but as a secular holiday.  I don’t follow the Wheel of the Year, so group gatherings around Yule are right out.  Normally, I don’t mind being a solitary practitioner and am happy doing my own thing…but during this season I wish I was part of a tangible community of people who celebrate in the same way I do.  Right now, at this moment, I want to be part of a congregation.  Right now, at this moment, I feel like a non-person because I don’t have what so many other people have…and because I’ve been told that I basically don’t exist if I don’t celebrate Yule, or Christmas, or Hanukkah, or whatever other holidays are mainstream.

Oh well.  I’ll get over it when the season is over.  I always do.

3 responses to “All Xed out with No Place to Go

Leave a Reply

