Tempest in a Teapot

It’s the little things that tick me off.

It’s ironic, really – in an attempt to maneuver away from major freakouts about big religious stuff  I’m now finding myself focusing in on small stupidities.  A misspelt word here, a random phrase beginning with “All X do…” and my raving lunatic impression kicks in.  I’ve been known to go off for days just based on seeing yet another person write “diety”, or talk about how being a pagan means revering nature, or…or…OR!  It’s exhausting at times and I know people look at me in horror sometimes and think, “Okaaaay, if she’s reacting like that to THIS THING how can she possibly hold up under THIS MUCH BIGGER THING???”

Funnily enough, the outpouring of words and emotion that comes from my reacting to little things actually seems to be helping me remain calm when the large things attack – when my spiritual foundations are rocked, or when mystic-crap-that’s-hard-to-describe occurs, or when godspeak takes the wind out of my sails.  The ability to communicate is extremely important to me and, even when I can’t necessarily communicate about BIG.THING.HAPPENED.OH.MY.GODS. I can communicate about “stupid little thing that’s pissing me off.”  It helps keep me centered when I have a tiny storm going on…because I don’t feel the need to try and control the larger things.  I can let them play out as they will, accompanied by minor whimpering rather than epic screaming.

(I guess this is where I insert “Don’t try this at home”?)

2 responses to “Tempest in a Teapot

  1. I think this can be a very good strategy. It is somewhat analogous to how to teach essay writing. The big essay at the end is the big worry in the writer’s mind, but if I spend plenty of time nagging about the finer points like organization, spelling, grammar and punctuation, the stress of the big essay diminishes and more careful writing occurs. And then the big essay in the end is easier to understand and evaluate for all parties.

    The little bits are part of the greater whole and while focusing on them at times makes me head desk, it is the necessary work for a productive outcome.

    Not that the big events in spirituality equate to a piece of writing, but those little bits that irritate do so for reasons that may very well have to do with the larger issues. I admit I get tired of nit picking, but in the end, it helps understanding.

    Where I have to stop usually is pretty clear to me with anything where I have had a detailed focus, and that is when I imagine the hills running red with the blood of evil doers. 😀

    There is this old saying about writing: You have to learn the rules before you can break the rules. And I think that might be at least a little applicable to spiritual discussion. If you are aware that a person has done the homework, been to the mountain and back, it can be easier to forgive a slip and even point it out in a friendly way knowing that the person themselves would be embarrassed at the mistake. And it can seem to an outside observer with no knowledge of the underlying situations that there are double standards (reg ed kids sometimes get angry that sped kids get different tones, time and other fancy stuff), sometimes it is worth explaining, but many times it isn’t. And with a voluntary discussion about religious matters, nobody is obligated to teach.

    I know you don’t need my back pats, but I had it in my head while reading this “keep up the good work.”

Leave a Reply

