Cemetery visiting – April 2012

Yesterday, I planned to visit two cemeteries to renew the connection with my grandparents and, hopefully, perform Reidy’s Great Recitation Ritual for Transfiguring the Ka spirit of the Blessed Dead for each pair.  The day did not go as planned.

The first cemetery I visited was Birmingham Lafayette Cemetery.  This is where my paternal grandparents are buried.  I’ve been to visit them before and, therefore, thought I remembered where their headstones were located.

It turns out I didn’t remember.  Not only that, but my husband and I spent nearly two hours combing the cemetery, looking for them.  To top off the fruitless search, we chose to go on a day when the Office (where the maps are!) was closed.  However, the trip was not wasted – I did spend a little time with my paternal grandmother’s relatives: my great-grandfather and great-grandmother, my great-uncle and great-aunts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We then drove down to Lawn Croft Cemetery, which is where my maternal grandparents are buried.  Again, the office was closed but I was pretty certain I remembered where they were.  It turns out that I did actually remember, even though it still took a good 45 minutes to pinpoint the location.  We took a photo from the road to ensure we’d remember it for next time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was able to set out items that belonged to them (those items are now on my ancestor shrine) and a candle, pour libations, and perform the Recitation Rite for my grandmother and grandfather.  It felt amazing.  We left flowers on the grave site.

When I came home I set up my ancestor shrine and lit the LED candle.

Next month, we’re going back to Birmingham Lafayette when the office is open.  I’m going to find my father’s parents, perform the Recitation Rite, and then plant something they’d love.  I may even install a bird feeder.

4 responses to “Cemetery visiting – April 2012

  1. The first set from the first cemetery are so intricate. The only ones I see nowadays are either so old that the intricate nature of the headstones have been lost in time or are not very interesting, at all. You’re lucky you have cemeteries (relatively) nearby where people have put a lot of time, thought, and energy into the grave markers.

    I’m glad you were able to do the Transfiguring the Ka rite at least once. 🙂 I’m happy for you!

    • In Birmingham Lafayette there are some very old stones that are barely legible; I’ll have to photograph them when I go back.

      The Sturzebecker stones were all made by the same stone-cutting firm and kept in the same style to keep family continuity. A lot of the families interred at B-L did that. Of course, there are some stones that I find amazingly tacky as well, but there tend to be more of those (fancy shapes and carvings, etched in color) in the newer cemeteries.

  2. Pingback: Visiting My Deadz, May Visit. « Mystical Bewilderment on The Spiritual Turnpike

Leave a Reply

