Haste makes…something-or-other

We see it time and again: the excitement and enthusiasm of those who discover something for the first time and want to know ALL about it.

This phenomenon occurs in all areas of life.  It permeates everything we do, whether it is cooking dinner for ourselves or deciding to take a night course, starting a  relationship or picking out a  knitting pattern.  Something different is dangled before us and we run headlong to jump in and roll in the shiny newness.

I suffer from “Ooooh, SHINY!” syndrome myself and love the rush I get from a new discovery, be it a person, place, or thing (nouns, anyone?).  There’s absolutely nothing wrong with the thrill of the new; without it, life would become stagnant fairly quickly.  In my opinion, though, the speed at which some people dive headfirst into new things is an issue.

One of the blogs I follow had a post not long ago about not putting the cart before the horse and it was incredibly apt.  Sometimes, in our haste to embrace the shiny NEW THINGS we forget that we don’t really know much about the topic, nor do we know where to start, and so we find something onto which we can latch and…and…and…then we get stuck.

We get stuck on the little things, like what our new lover thinks about the price of tea in China, or what color the cloth for our new altar should be.  We worry about proper offerings (is chocolate really always acceptable?), or whether our knife slant is exactly right to turn out carrots like the recipe says.  We forget to stop and take a breath.  We forget to separate that which matters from that which is nice to have.

Unless we have a vested interest in tea exportation, does it really matter how our lover feels about tea prices?  What does matter when we take on a new lover?

If we don’t really understand the reason for an altar, does it really matter what color cloth we use?  Where (if anywhere) does an altar fit into the path we want to follow?  What is an altar anyway?

We need to slow down and examine why we’re doing in addition to what we’re doing.

11 responses to “Haste makes…something-or-other

  1. im like this, down to a t. im forever discovering new things and diving head first before i have a chance to asses all the risks

  2. I loved this entry. I loved it. This. This. This.

    I’m so guilty of this myself, especially when I first began this whole thing. I wanted to get to the punch line before hearing the joke, so to speak. It seemed like everyone I knew was doing something worth it and I was left out of the fun. Enter in all the mistakes with Ganesha and in the “coven” I belonged to. Unfortunately, the act of patience is one of those things that comes with age and a lot of mistakes.

    But thank you for this post. It’s bookmarked because I’m sure I’ll be linking back to it in various posts in future.

    • You say the nicest things!

      I think so many people could benefit from taking a moment to slow down and really assess what they’re doing. The obsession with “What should I offer to X deity?” is a perfect example; I always want to respond with “What do you know about X deity? How does worship of X fit into your path? Figure these things out first and then worry about whether X likes cinnamon or not.”

      I’ve probably more posts coming up on this topic.

  3. I have been very outspoken about people running headlong into things. It’s a pet peeve of mine in a well known Kemetic temple that people can go from a guest to a full fledged member in under 6 months. It bothers me. I think people should really learn to love the journey, and the growth and to take the time to develop the discipline to pace yourself. You know? I’m not always great at it, but I do try to go at things in an even pace, not to run headlong into something and look stupid lol.

    Anywho, rant over. Good post 🙂

    • I don’t think any of us are great at it all the time but we can always stop for a breather at some point. I’ve been known to take a look back at what I’ve done and go, “Oh shit – that makes no sense” and then start over again. Sometimes I think being pagan is all about the ability to reboot. 😉

  4. Pingback: The Milestone Achievement: 10,000 Views! « Mystical Bewilderment on The Spiritual Turnpike

  5. Pingback: Ninja Spirituality | Fluid Morality

Leave a Reply

