Lost and Found – Part 1

Beatrix sighed as she stood at the counter.  This would be the fourth SEPTA office she’d visited requesting permission to go through the Lost & Found and no one seemed to be able to help her.   She was finally sent to 69th Street Station and had been waiting in line for over 45 minutes as the sounds and smells of her surroundings threatened to become overwhelming.  God, she thought, Upper Darby stinks!

A uniformed man made his way to the front.  His name, from the tag on his shirt, was Tony.  Beatrix pasted on a bright smile.

“So,” said Tony, “you want to take a look in our Lost & Found…for what, exactly?”

“Well…it is kind of complicated.”  Beatrix paused, wracking her brain for a reasonable thought.

“Did you lose something on one of our buses or trains?”

“Yes, on the 105.  At least, I think I lost it there.  I cannot find it anywhere and the last time I know I had it was on the way home from work two days ago.”

“Okay, that gives us somewhere to start.  Anything found on the 105 during maintenance is brought here.”  Tony grinned at Beatrix.  “At least I don’t have to send you over to 30th Street; that place is a zoo.”

Beatrix laughed weakly.  She already knew she was in the right place, but if a show of cooperation got her in more quickly, so much the better.

“So, here’s the thing.  It’s a stupid security rule, but we have to know what you lost before we can let you in there.  Can’t have people stealing, you know?”  Tony managed to form his face into a sympathetic one while still coming across as tough on rules.

Shit, Beatrix thought.  She took a deep breath, then said, “I don’t even know how to describe it.  I mean, it isn’t like I lost my wallet or my cell phone.  It’s got more…”

“Sentimental value?” Tony interrupted her sentence, looking pleased with his choice of words.

“Yes, you could say that,” she replied.  “It is definitely very special to me.”

“Okay!  So, the Lost & Found is divided into sections by type of article.”  Tony said these words proudly, as if for the first time.  “We put all the phones in one place, bags in another, you know?”

“Sure.”  Beatrix knew what was coming next.

“So, what exactly did you lose?”

Beatrix mumbled something.

“Excuse me?  Lady, I didn’t hear you.”  Tony looked confused.

“My…faith.  I lost my faith on the 105.”

Leave a Reply

