I’m an aardvark (worshipper), and I’m proud

In retrospect, I shouldn’t have been surprised when Deity came to me as a singing aardvark.

As a rule, I tend to be skeptical about “signs” and “omens”.  Seeing squirrels everywhere isn’t a sign of anything…except that I live in perfect squirrel habitat.  Black vultures in a tree that hangs over the road?  They’ve lived there since I was a child.  Weird weather?  Let’s discuss climate change! So, a Sesame Street song on repeat in my head was just another ear-worm.

(Aardvark Song – in case you don’t know it.)

For 2+ weeks, the song infiltrated my brain and sang itself hoarse at varying levels of volume every time I wasn’t actively thinking about something else.  It was maddening.  And, every time the song went off, I thought more about visiting the zoo.

(Aardvarks – yes, they’re adorable)

And then, I had a dream while napping.

I should probably explain here that I am a very lucid dreamer.  I remember my dreams most of the time, in vivid detail.  My nap dreams tend to have more significance than others; that’s when the touch of precog hits, for example.

In this dream, an aardvark appeared wearing a glittery tiara.  It looked at me and asked, “What are you waiting for?”  It then disappeared in a whirl of sand and wind.

I spent some time talking about it with some friends and posting about the dream online but expecting it to be just another random construct of a random brain.  Then, three days later, as I was drifting off to sleep, I heard, “Oh, so you’ll ask other people who I am but NOT ME???”

I know my mental voice well – I’ve spent too much time in my own head not to know it.  I’d previously communicated with Deity – in fact, I’ve been a follower of a particular netjeret for years and can tell when She is speaking to me.  Her “voice” very different from my own inner monologue; timbre, pitch, and intonation are all distinct and unlike me.  This speaker had yet another “voice”, unlike mine and unlike Hers.

So, cue the clue-by-four.  This wasn’t a mental construct.  This was real.

There’s a hand-blown glass aardvark in my shrine now to represent My Lord.

5 responses to “I’m an aardvark (worshipper), and I’m proud

  1. Pingback: Bongo, bongo, bongo – a Divine ear-worm | Fluid Morality

Leave a Reply

